Gail's Nest · Refashion

A Refashion of Wrap-Around Pants

My mother-in-law gave me an outfit she had bought years ago from a trip to the Caribbean island of Antigua. It is silky and cool, but odd. She wore it a few times and then gave it to me suggesting I refashion it.

DSC00586

When I laid out the pants they looked like this:

DSC00587

It’s certainly a clever design! You have straddle the opening and then it wraps around the waist. Anyway, I knew I wouldn’t wear them as is, so I found a skirt pattern in my stash that I thought would work well with the fabric:

pattern

And so, it was an easy thing to lay out the pattern pieces on the pants – there was plenty of fabric. I simply pinned and cut!

DSC00588

This is an extremely easy pattern and so I just followed the sewing directions and it came together rather quickly.

refashionDSC00619

Refashedit

The matching top was a little big on me so I took it in on the sides. It’s a nice cool, updated outfit for our upstate New York summer!

Blessings!

-Gail

One thought on “A Refashion of Wrap-Around Pants

Leave a Reply

