Gail's Nest

Refashion a Long Dress to a Top

After staring at my closet for 5 minutes paralyzed by indecision I decided to create a top by refashioning a long-hemmed dress to go with a particular pair of pants. I didn’t have much time before I had to leave for work so this would have to be quick!

Here is the dress. It is a suede material and went to my mid-calf. My selfie didn’t turn out too well… but you can see that it’s a bit frumpy:

dsc00146

This one might be better:

dsc00148

After I figured out how much I wanted to shorten it, I placed the dress on the floor and folded the dress along the front seam and cut the dress along a diagonal to give it a high-low effect.

So here are the after pictures:

dsc00150

dsc00154

Refashioning is so much fun. You take your old clothes and turn them into something more modern. If you’re interested in more of my refashions check out this post.

Leave a Reply

